Water changes w/ stress coat. How much? 10 Gallon Tank

1. ~Fanci~ Member Member

Hello! I have had my new 10 gallon tank for almost 3 weeks now. I did the set up and let the water cycle with Stress Coat and aquarium salt (recommended amount for freshwater fish) for 4 days before I got my fish (2 Dalmation Mollies and a Pleco). All was well and then when I did my first water change and 2nd and 3rd since starting the levels have been kind of wacky. What am I doing wrong? I am still learning, but this is my basic steps-
    1. I empty 10L (2.5 ish gallons) of water into a bucket and put my heater in to get the temp up
    2. I use the gravel vac to siphon out 25% of my water
    3. I take out my heater when the water is ready and treat it with Stress Coat, about 1/4 the recommended amount for a 10 gallon tank (since my water going in is only 1/4) and also a little aquarium salt (they recommend 1 tbsp for 5 gallons so I use no more than a 1/2 tbsp)
    4. New water goes in, everything hooked back up
    5. I have just today started adding a capful of NutraFin cycle into the filter

Am I doing anything wrong, or not doing anything I should be? Am I adding enough Stress Coat, or should I be adding enough to treat the full 10 gallons and not just the new water?
    Thank you Thank you!

2. DRock914 Member Member