Water changes using Python

SereneReyn
Ok, i'm not technically 'new' but it's been an awfully long time... I haven't even set up a tank again yet, but i'm wanting to. anyway, on to my question...

so the python thing seems cool for cleaning all the gravel and whatnot - I used to use buckets to lug all the dirty water away, etc... (i'm going to do freshwater community tank with plants, btw)... but what i'm not understanding is how you can refill your tank with tap water, without having treated it first with a water conditioner. could someone explain this part? what am I missing?

Angela_96
I asked a similar question today they said to put the water conditioner in the tank before you turn the water on to fill your tank back up, the water is instantly treated anyways with the conditioners.

SereneReyn
well, thanks... just seems odd to do it that way... this is ok even for somewhat delicate fish?

also... i've always preferred novaqua to stresscoat... tho stresscoat seems more popular... why?

sirdarksol
I should add that this knowledge is not first hand. It's from The Simple Guide to Freshwater Aquariums. I do not yet have a Python, and therefore have not done this yet.

sirdarksol
SereneReyn said:
well, thanks... just seems odd to do it that way... this is ok even for somewhat delicate fish?

also... i've always preferred novaqua to stresscoat... tho stresscoat seems more popular... why?
It should be fine. It actually takes quite awhile for chloramine to do damage in the such small concentrations. On the other hand, the dechlorinator is more or less instant.

Not sure about the second one. Personally, I like Novaqua+ and/or Ultimate. They do the same things as StressCoat, and are more readily available around here.

Trpimp147