Water change needed after using fritz ammonium powder?

Jdefra

Hello I'm doing a fishless cycle on my second 20 gallon tank. This is a planted tank, used fritz ammonium chloride powder, then fritz nitrifying bacteria and the cycle seems to be going very well. When the ammonia and nitrite reach zero, should I do a large water change before adding fish?

pH 7.2
Ammonia 0.25
Nitrite 0.25
Nitrate hard to tell but I think between 0-5

I've never used the fritz powder before so I don't know if it's different than the liquid and can't seem to find anything online but just want to make sure I'm putting my new fish into the best environment I can. Thanks

mattgirl

I do recommend adding ammonia at least one more time after the ammonia and nitrites zero out. If nitrites spike again we know the cycle isn't done. If that is the case continue adding ammonia until both ammonia and nitrites drop to zero within 24 hours of adding ammonia.

Once we are sure the cycle is complete I always recommend doing a water change before adding fish to a newly cycled tank. We want to start them out in fresh water.

Jdefra

Thank you! Do you think a large water change is needed? Like more than 50%? I usually do 25% bi weekly for my established tank. I just can't find any info on if a larger water change is required for when powdered ammonia is used

mattgirl

Thank you! Do you think a large water change is needed? Like more than 50%? I usually do 25% bi weekly for my established tank. I just can't find any info on if a larger water change is required for when powdered ammonia is used
When you say bi weekly do you mean twice a week or every 2 weeks? The kind of ammonia you use doesn't determine how much water you need to change. Basically ammonia is ammonia no matter what form it comes in. I do highly recommend you change out half the water once the cycle is done and then once a week for the life of the tank after fish are added.