Washing hands and Plants

1. Nitemelodies Member Member

Sorry I didnt know if i should post this in Plants section or beginners bc I am a beginner... haha

So first... I read before you do anything with your tank you should wash your hands... What if you smoke cigs or put on perfume and accidently forget to wash your hands and put them in the tank ? o.o

Also, on my other post I said I wanted to have a planted tank... Bc I read Panda cories, DG's and the other fishies I want like them....

I currently have Java Fern and Amazon sword in the little tank I have now. I got them bc they dont need much light and easy for beginners... would it be bad to transplant them into my new tank?

Also what are other easy plants for a 20 gallon long? And cheap options for lighting? I read the post in the Plant section which helped a bit but im on a budget... and have no idea what to even buy... >.>

any tips and advice would be great. I will have a sand substrate if that helps o.o

2. Adam55 Well Known Member Member

Even trace amounts of perfume getting in the tank could definitely be an issue, but I don't really know what would happen. Probably best to avoid it as best you can.

You can absolutely move the plants from one tank to the other, but the sword is a rooting plant. Just try and be careful with those roots.Crypts, your java fern, anubias, and hornwort are all plants that can do well in low light, but the sword actually requires a bit more light.
    Dolfan or Phishphin can help with the lights better than I can.

3. shayla1 Well Known Member Member

Anubias is a nice looking plant that is easy to grow. Also Bacopa is one that I really like, it will propagate even from clippings.

I'm not the most knowledgeable about lights, but my plants do fine with eco complete substrate or fluval plant substrate and normal T-8 lights.

4. Dolfan Fishlore VIP Member

I'll try to answer your questions in the order you asked them....