Warning: Total Newbie Here!

Discussion in 'Welcome to FishLore' started by OrcaGal6, Aug 22, 2019.

?

Out of curiosity, what cycling method do you use/prefer?

1. Fish-in

4 vote(s)
    57.1%
  2. Fishless: Using fish food

2 vote(s)
    28.6%
  3. Fishless: Using Raw shrimp, prawn, etc.

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Fishless: Liquid ammonia (ex: Ace’s Janitorial Strength)

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. Fishless: Other method not listed

1 vote(s)
    14.3%
  1. OrcaGal6

OrcaGal6New MemberMember

Ratings:
    +2
    Hello!

I’ve come across various FL posts when researching the best way to start a new aquarium. I decided to go ahead and create an account for some advice and answers that I will most certainly have in the future.

This will not be the first time that I’ve owned freshwater (tropical?) fish, but it is the first time I’ve set up a tank and forbid myself from going to my local Petco/Petsmart to pick up some neon tetras and guppies after letting the tank run for a mere 24 hours (following the instructions from said pet stores).

Yeah. I’ve about given myself a concussion with all the face palming I’ve been doing these past couple of weeks. Please realise that this was 10+ years ago, when I was pretty young and naive. I have since learned after owning many reptiles, arachnids, and amphibians that taking the advice of places like Petco and Petsmart is not advisable; it’s better to do plenty of research and ask the advice of people who have many years of experience with the creatures you wish to care for.

That being said, I am definitely new to keeping aquariums the right way.

The tank I’ve set up is 20H. I realise that bigger is better when it comes to tank size, but my landlord only allows fish tanks up to 20 gallons. I’d like to upgrade in the future, but for now I’ll have to settle.