Want to start my new tank off with live plants for once

1. Livielupop Member Member

I tried to add a plant to my little 2.5 gallon tank a long time ago before I new anything and it had a short lifetime in that tank. I've basically only decorated my tanks with fake plants and decor in the past. I want to try to start my new tank with the live plants, but I have no knowledge about care and set up and things for aquarium plants. I didn't think about the set up for plants and care until after I bought decorations and gravel.(a natural rock, bubble volcano, artificial plant, and natural gravel) I really would love to have live plants in my aquarium. I'd just like to know how I should set up my tank to accommodate plants and what should I do with the gravel(it's to late to return for like substrate and stuff as I poured the whole bag in already)

* -29 gallon
    -no water yet
    -in the process of construction

2. Lchi87 Fishlore VIP Member

I think picking out and researching the plants you'd like to keep would be a good first step. Each plant has specific requirements in terms of lighting, gravel, fertilizers etc so it's helpful to know what you need to purchase for your plants to thrive!

Also make sure that the fish you intend to keep are compatible with the plants you like; some fish think plants are delicious but you may not appreciate them mowing down all your plants.

Some general tips:
    -Know where you're getting your plants from. Plants can carry unwanted snails and other parasites so it might be helpful to quarantine when in doubt.
    -Mix a nutrient substrate with the regular gravel
    -Use a timer on your light to make sure your plants are getting an adequate amount