Want to raise Convict Cichlids

waltmillham

Reaction score
Today, the guy at the pet store told me he would buy the little Convict offspring from me if I wanted to have a couple mated pairs in my aquarium. I'm new to this hobby & at first I wanted & did have parahnas for a short time (baby ones) in my 20 gallon tank. Now there's four cichlids in that tank along with a Pleco. The two newest cichlids are Convicts & I've decided that's what I want to have, but I'm going to have them in a 29 gallon I bought today. I hope to get it set up tomorrow & get it cycling. I'm gonna shut down my 10 gallon & will probably leave the Mini Bows 5 gallon with the Betta on the side of my kitchen counter top. Truth is......I'm short on space....don't have room for a 55 gallon so Pirahnas, Oscars, or anything else I had ideas of having ain't gonna happen.

Right now, the Convicts are in with two bullying African cichlids. I have to get them out of there tonight. Any way I'd very much appreciate any advice in breeding the convict cichlids. How often will they have offspring & how many? As for the 20 gallon...probably gonna have African cichlids in there because I like watching agressive fish, but I'm not going to continue to watch the two I now have(African Powder Blue cichlids) raise **** with my pair of convicts. Don't worry, I'm not throwing them out, they're just going back in my 10 gallon until I get my new project under way.

smillermom

Valued Member
Reaction score