Want To Build Stand But So Many Questions Before Starting

AsstToTheRegionalMgr

I do not yet have any fish but am already hooked. I am setting up a 20 gallon long tank and I got nitrite readings for the first time today!

The tank is currently on my floor, so I’d like to move onto a stand. I’ve been searching for a stand but most are expensive and have bad reviews and seemingly made of cheap material.

I’d like to take a shot at building my own stand. However, I have no experience with woodwork and construction.

I am considering following the instructions in this video:

Since I have no experience, I have several questions and concerns. Before I get started, can you answer my questions below?

1. My tank dimensions are 30.25 x 12.5 x 13.0 inches (20 gallon long). I’d like to make my stand 30.75 x 13.0 x 37.0 inches. Many people who build their own stands seem to keep their stands shorter. Will making the height 37.0 inches compromise the strength of the stand?
  2. Which 2x4 should I use? Is there a specific type of wood to avoid? Are there certain qualities, such as a large number of knots, I should avoid? Or, can I just pick the nicest looking piece of wood?
  3. What is the purpose of a flat corner brace? Some users use them while others don’t.
  4. Is a miter saw the best tool to cut 2x4s? If I buy a tool, I’d like to use it for future projects (e.g. bookshelf) as well, so I’m looking for a versatile tool. I also want to add panels/plywood/doors/etc. and do not want to purchase several tools.
  5. Does adding too many screws compromise the strength of the stand?
  6. As mentioned, I want my stand to be more than a skeleton. I have to make the stand look nice. It will be in the living room. If I want to add shelves, doors, trimmings, and make it waterproof, do I need to plan for this prior to building the skeleton? Or, do I build the skeleton first (using the video) and worry about the additional add-ons afterwards?

tocandesu