Violet Goby Not Eating.

Kohlt22

Reaction score
I'm relatively new to the fish scene. I currently have 3 aquariums that are up and running. One fresh, one light brackish, and one that is currently not in use (still educating myself about salt water). Anyways, 3-4 months ago I bought a violet goby (dragon fish) from Walmart under the impression it was freshwater, which I later learned was false. I never witnessed him eat in the freshwater tank but he keeps growing in length so I converted him over to the brackish for about 2 weeks now but I never saw him eat either. Today I couldn't stand to see him suffer because towards his mouth, his gills are a light reddish color. He is constantly swimming to the top of the aquarium which I've read is irregular behaviour. Currently in my fw tank he is perfectly content and cruising in the sand. Is it proven they are 100% brackish? And if he still alive, that means he has to be eating right? He is slender but is about 5-6 inches longer than when I purchased him. I feed all of my fish a variety of about 6 different foods. My salinity in there is on the low end 1.004. I truly would appreciate any advice, thank you!

Kohlt22

Reaction score
Nitrate - 0
Nitrate - .5
Hardness - 150
Alkalinity - 180
Ph - 7.8
Temp -73