UV, fluorescent, or Incandescent lights

wolfman21

Valued Member
Reaction score
Hi I was debating on which light to get for my tank, between UV, fluorescent, or incandescent. I have fake plants so don't need to worry about those. Which one is the best for the fish, or would show their colors best, and which one is the most natural looking to the fish. I'm assuming UV, but I don't know which is brighter-fluorescent or incandescent. Please let me know if you know. Thanks.

AnnaEA

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
Well, I'm no expert. But those mini-bake stoves they sell for kids use incandescent lightbulbs to cook little cakes and stuff -- incandescents get pretty hot, and I don't think you could have them close enough to illuminate your tank well without badly over heating it.

I use a "real sunlight" fluorescent bulb, because I have plants, but my tank hood came with a plain fluorescent tube, and if you don't have live plants that might be a little better --- the plain fluorescent seemed to give a brighter tone to all the colors in the tank, while the "real sunlight" bulb tends to make things a little greener seeming.

Terry

Valued Member
Reaction score
I don't think you want just UV - commonly called "blacklight". Pure UV is not visible to the human eye, although you'll always see a bit of visible light in a common UV bulb. The main use of UV is to make fluorescent substances "glow' in the dark.

Anyway, I prefer the fluorescents as they are much cooler than incandescent lights. As AnnaEA said - regular incandescent bulbs can bake a cake in those little toy ovens. And, if you're concerned about getting some UV energy from the light source, there is typically a little bit of UV energy in most, if not all, fluorescent bulbs (there's no UV energy in an incandescent bulb). It may be hard to believe, but there is actually much more red light energy in an incandescent bulb than any other color.