55 Gallon Tank Using an underwater pump to help with water changes

Utar
I have for the longest time been using the python for water changes. I don't like wasting water so after the siphon starts with running water from the facet, I would turn off the water. The python keeps draining water out but it is very slow.

So here recently I bought this little underwater pump from Amazon > pump
This little pump works great, it really cuts down on the water changing time. I have only used it three times now, but I like it. Just hope it holds up but only time will tell.

Islandvic
Yep, I do same thing draining with a pump. I have a long run of vinyl hose that allows us to water some plants outside.

I've never used a python before, but using water to create suction to drain a tank is counterintuitive when a simple pump does a better job. Lot of waste it seems.

Using the pump, I can use the water draining from hose to rinse filter media onto the plants. Extra fertilizer!

FLfishGal
Utar said:
So here recently I bought this little underwater pump from Amazon > pump
This little pump works great, it really cuts down on the water changing time. I have only used it three times now, but I like it. Just hope it holds up but only time will tell.
How is the pump holding up? Can you tell me specifically how you use it to do your water changes? I currently carry buckets from the sink and want to speed up the process.

John58ford
I also have some pumps for draining water. I have a large one dedicated to refills too. Welcome to the pump club!

aquachris
I do similar with my 210. It's a lot of water to change and really helps cut down the time.

FLfishGal
How do you use the pumps for refills?

faydout