Using a substrate i have never used before

• Thread starter dea
  • Start date

dea

HI ~ I am new to this site, so I hope I am doing it correctly. anyway, I have had aquariums all my life (I am 52 yo). I currently have a 20 gallon aquarium, with live plants, 4 angelfish, 10 neons, 4 guppies, 3 blood red tetras, 1 glass cat fish, 2 black skirt tetras and 1 goldfish. I have never had very good luck with live plants in the past so, my brother talked me into using a gravel I have used before, called ~ Activ-Flora * planted aquarium substrate * sold by Natures Ocean. I up graded from a 10 gallon aquarium to the 20 gallon about 3 weeks ago.

now, after 3 weeks my tank is still very cloudy, it's not crystal clear like I am use to. I have never ever had any problems with the ph, ammonia, nitrite, nitrate levels before but upon testing about 4 days ago EVERYTHING was outta wack!!! I immediately did a water change (about half), I started using Accu-Clear, and I rinse the filter cartridges daily ~ to no avail. although I have gotten the levels to a safe level, the water will not clear up.

now, my question is : Could the new substrate I am using be the cause of this?? if not, can anyone tell what may be causing this??

I have pictures but not sure why I can't post them.

xD1x

I Would Think that you added too much live sand and added the fish too early to complete the nitrogen cycle all over. how long did you let you let you tank run before adding fish? And did you use your old tank water when filling up new tank?

Together We Can Change The Fish Hobby !

AquaticBrandon

Well Known
Hello and welcome to the forum!