Using A Sideboard As A Aquarium Stand??

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Goldfishgirlgirl, Jul 31, 2017.

1. Goldfishgirlgirl

Goldfishgirlgirl Well Known Member Member

Hello everyone let me begin by saying I'm totally new in owning a fish !! i plan to use my newly purchased sideboard fir the aquarium I will buy . I know I should get a aquarium stand but I really hate the designs

Could u pls advise what kind of tank u should get and if I can add support to the dresser?? Preferably I want a couple baby goldfish . I can get big tanks but I'm worry about the sideboard is not strong enough ..

Attached Files:

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 31, 2017
  2. Ken Ooi

Ken Ooi Valued Member Member

Please post a picture of what you wish to mount your aquarium on. We understand you call it a side board, but half us men folk won't know what it is.

3. sfsamm

sfsamm Well Known Member Member

I wouldn't bat an eye at a 20 gallon based on the photo, but without knowing how it is put together and looking at it in person.... It appears (according to the description) to be made (at least partially) with real wood so it may be strong enough for something as big as a 40 but personally I'd be very, very cautious. The design wouldn't allow you to reinforce it properly without removing the top entirely, and with the weight on top you may experience some bowing downward which could cause issues with proper door closure.

I also sincerely don't like all the commonly available stands and after several months of hunting around for a stand for my 55 build I discovered R&J Enterprises, they have some very nice stands, made from solid woods and without any press board. They are a very high quality and I am very pleased with mine. Here's a link to their website. You'll have to poke around a bit to get their vendor list.

4. OP
    OP
    Goldfishgirlgirl

Thank you ! I'm also attaching the pic of the The inside Of the sideboard ( designed for dining area)