Use gold fish to get tank ready?

Yodi

Reaction score
Hi anyone, I was told that to get my tropical tank ready for the fish that I should use goldfish to break In a new setup. But now that I've had goldfish In my tank for three months (I wanted to make sure I was doing everything right) Is It safe to put tropical fish In my tank now? If so which are the best fish to start with? I'm pretty new at the tropical fish thing so I guess I need a hardier fish. Thanks In advance.

Yodi

Luniyn

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Actually it's not a good combination to put goldfish in the same tank as tropical fish. Goldfish like the tank colder then tropical fish do. They also produce 3 times the amount of waste that tropical fish do and though they don't have an issue with the extra waste, tropical fish do. It is certainly possible to do, but it requires a lot more tank upkeep to keep the water clean enough for the tropical fish to do well. And you will need to get tropical fish that don't mind the water a bit cooler or the goldfish will suffer.

Yodi

Reaction score
I was just told to use the goldfish because they said It would get the tank ready for the tropical fish. And so I can practice on keeping a tropical tank. As soon as I get fish for my tank I'll find the goldfish a new home. Was this a good Idea or a bad Idea? Also which fish are the best starter fish, since I'm a beginner? And one more thing, can I put sucker fish In with my goldfish for now? Thank you, thank you!

Yodi

COBettaCouple

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
You'll want an API master freshwater testing kit to see how the tank is for your tropical fish. The plecos get very big unless you get one of the dwarf plecos so you'll want to see if you can get one that fits your tank and is comfortable in the temp range the goldfish like. Platys & Guppys are pretty hardy fish to start with, just get all males unless you want babies.

Yodi

Reaction score