Upgrade tank help?

1. chloep123 Member Member

Hiya!

So I have just been offered a 13 gallon (ish-it's a 50 litre) and my plan is to use it for my betta, Sus. I would like to think he could have some fishy companions now, maybe neons? Any stocking ideas other than them though? It would be nice to have some ghost shrimp or a mystery snail (or both!) however, I have no knowledge of either or their requirements, so any advice would be much appreciated!

Thanks, Chloe

2. PythonTheBetta Member Member

neons aren't temp compatible with bettas. Some say that they can both be kept at about 78F but that's a personal decision. Also, and anyone correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe neons require a larger tank, especially if they are being put in with a betta. Some bettas will eat ghost shrimp but some really don't bother them. You should be okay putting a snail in with it. But either way, float the cup with the snail/shrimp in the tank before releasing it into the tank to see how the Betta will react. Hope this helps! (and if any of this information was incorrect I encourage someone to correct me)

3. chloep123 Member Member

PythonTheBetta thank you! I don't have a clue on what size anything needs but I was told 6 neons would be fine... Ahh well. Sus is very friendly towards snails so I would hope he is the same with shrimp, is there no other fish that would work?

4. PythonTheBetta Member Member

Usually bettas tend to be solitary creatures, so I'm not sure what other fish could be compatible. Hopefully someone with a community tank will find this thread and help you out

5. chloep123 Member Member

Thank you for your help, hopefully someone else can advise soon!

6. chloep123 Member Member

Just to update anyone who is following, I'm getting the tank Monday and Sus will move in immediately

7. Daniel W Member Member