UPDATED 10g stocking??

sheila1998

Reaction score
I have finally decided what fish will go into my fully planted 10g tank after hours of research but I want to double check and make sure it's right. Keep in mind, I will eventually move to a 16g tank within a year from now, but until then this is the 10 gal tank. From what I've read these guys have similar diets and conditions, but I am new to doing this the RIGHT way so I want to make sure.
For the 10 gal I am planning on doing:
1 pair of dwarf powdered blue gouramis
5 norman's lampeye killfish
1 scarlet badis (debatable so I've read)
A few snails
Maybe an algae eater bottom dweller ( any suggestions? )

Best Answer - View wateriswet's answer

Mike1995

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
I could be wrong but I believe scarlett badis probably won't do well with this proposed stocking. They tend to eat mostly live foods. It might be a little bit difficult to make sure they're fed enough due to their shy nature. It may get outcompeted by the other fish.

jinjerJOSH22

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
Hi, I wouldn’t do a pair of Dwarf Gourami in a 10 gallon, one in there is a squeeze as it is and they can be pretty aggressive towards each other.

Was your plan to have all those fish together or are they different options?

OP
sheila1998

sheila1998

Reaction score
Mike1995 said:
I could be wrong but I believe scarlett badis probably won't do well with this proposed stocking. They tend to eat mostly live foods. It might be a little bit difficult to make sure they're fed enough due to their shy nature. It may get outcompeted by the other fish.
Note taken! I will leave him out then

jinjerJOSH22 said:
Hi, I wouldn’t do a pair of Dwarf Gourami in a 10 gallon, one in there is a squeeze as it is and they can be pretty aggressive towards each other.

Was your plan to have all those fish together or are they different options?