Unsure if Honey Gourami will gain color

Trebo13

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting so bear with me. I was reading other posts about people with similar issues but I am still unsure of what kind of Gourami I have. I just picked him up from the lfs last week. They just got them in and only had one left. I was told it was a male and that it should turn yellow but it looks gray because it is stressed from the move. It’s been a week and it still looks dull in color but it did develop a black stripe along its side. Is it because it’s still stressed? All my water parameters are right where they should be, my ph is a little high at 7.4. It’s also in a planted 20 gallon with lots of cover along with some neons and Cory cats. Or is this not a true Honey and will stay this grayish color? I’m on a call list for the female since I would like a pair (with any luck they will breed but not a big deal if they don’t). I appreciate the help.

Attachments

• 8E908E56-6168-4CA6-BA52-5070E1789C56.jpeg
    8E908E56-6168-4CA6-BA52-5070E1789C56.jpeg
    213 KB · Views: 43
  • 50B2E4B0-B623-4871-B49B-1A3527FAB087.jpeg
    50B2E4B0-B623-4871-B49B-1A3527FAB087.jpeg
    191.3 KB · Views: 49
  • 04ED8860-92F7-43B7-A7F1-0E4028815B85.jpeg
    04ED8860-92F7-43B7-A7F1-0E4028815B85.jpeg
    228.3 KB · Views: 47

Hellfishguy

It's a female wild-type honey - that's as colorful as they get. Male wild-types, on the other hand...

RSCN0113.JPG

Upvote 0

Trebo13

It's a female wild-type honey - that's as colorful as they get. Male wild-types, on the other hand...

RSCN0113.JPG
Sounds like my lfs doesn’t know much about their fish seeing that they said mine was a male. Thanks for the help! Now I need to find a new fish store to get my Gouramis.

Upvote 0

noxifish

I would see this as a positive thing.. Most people have a really hard time finding a female!

Upvote 0

Trebo13

I would see this as a positive thing.. Most people have a really hard time finding a female!