Unidentified baby snail!

EAWT

I am new to the aquarium keeping world. I have a new tank and the initial cycle all went well. I recently built up my stock to a school of 8 harlequin rasbora, 6 red cherry shrimp and a nerite snail. All was going well so I decided to replace my artificial plants with real ones. 2 weeks ago I added a piece of drift wood with java moss and a java fern, then 4 days ago two lava rocks with anubias and java moss. Wonderful... except today I see an unidentified baby snail! I now feel really stupid for not researching how to treat and introduce new plants to an aquarium... please can you help ID it?

It was a yellowish colour, only a few mm long, had a reasonably long foot/shell ratio and moved quite quickly for a snail. I've added a photo although it was hard to take a clear one. After trying to photograph it I panicked that it might be something sinister and tried to fish it out, but ended up knocking it to the bottom and I now can't find it... should I be panicking?

Not sure if this helps, and maybe I imagined this, but when it was climbing up the glass the harlequins were very interested in it and have been schooling more making me think they are nervous - perhaps I'm projecting though! lol

Attachments

• IMG_20210503_150924.jpg
    IMG_20210503_150924.jpg
    137.5 KB · Views: 25
  • IMG_20210503_150134.jpg
    IMG_20210503_150134.jpg
    116.3 KB · Views: 27

richiep

It's a pond or bladder snail they will breed fast so if you don't want more take it out or crush it on the glass for the fish to eat, some consider them a pest

Upvote 0

Pfrozen

Just a bladder snail, completely harmless. They help keep your tank clean. Just don't overfeed because they'll reproduce too much. But that's also a good sign that you're feeding too much so it's still helpful

Upvote 0

Maryellen