Unexpected baby gourami. What should I do?

Kuebeecee

I have had two Honey Gouramis for about a year now. I originally had them in a 10 gallon setup and moved them to a 55 gallon in February 2022.

They live with a small school of rasboras, tetras, corys and otos in a heavily planted tank. A couple weeks ago I noticed the gourami acting strange. Turns out, they were going through the courting phase of mating. I actually thought they were both male.

Anyway! I am curious if I should even attempt to get fry food and what not. This obviously is not a breeding tank and with the rasboras and tetras, I would assume the fry don’t stand a chance. The male gourami never built a bubble nest and decided to put the eggs in the most turbulent part of the tank. I turned the air stone down to a lower setting and added a bunch of water lettuce around the eggs to help ease the stress of the male as he guards his nest.

I have zero experience with breeding and caring for fry. But I also kind of want to see at least one baby gourami make it through…just because.

Any advice or thoughts on this?

A201

A few of the baby Gouramis might survive if the plants provide enough cover & concealment.
I've had African Cichlid fry survive & grow to adulthood just hiding in rockpiles.

Kuebeecee

A few of the baby Gouramis might survive if the plants provide enough cover & concealment.
I've had African Cichlid fry survive & grow to adulthood just hiding in rockpiles.
Should I buy anything special for them? I have food that I can make into teeny tiny pieces but I wasn’t sure if I needed something special.

A201

If you can catch the fry, a hang on the rim, breederbasket works well.
Grinding up flake food into tiny bits usually suffices as food.

jinjerJOSH22

Hi, do you have photos?
It's not impossible but very unlikely any would survive as Honey Gourami fry are very very small and take a long time to grow big enough that Tetra and Rasboras wouldn't see them as potential food.