Understanding pH vs. Ammonia

Discussion in 'pH' started by ThumpoftheDead, Aug 11, 2015.

1. ThumpoftheDead

ThumpoftheDeadValued MemberMember

I'm still pretty new to the test kits, only been using them for a couple months, my pH was always kinda high (7.5-7.6 but I'm using API so I know it could be higher) and my ammonia only 0.0-0.25ppm at the most. But lately my pH has dropped a bit, at first it was just 7.0 so it was finally perfect I thought because I have guppies and tetras so it's down the middle for their preferences...but now I think it's 6.6, and I think the ammonia is up to 0.50ppm. Is that how it works? The pH drops so the ammonia grows? I'm not sure what my next step should be...should my weekly w/c (today) be postponed, do I take out more or less water when I do? Perhaps I need a refresher course on the nitrogen cycle lol.

Sent from my iPhone using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

2. LiterallyHydro

LiterallyHydroWell Known MemberMember

If there is ammonia in the water, you should perform a water change of 50-75% immediately to bring it down.

How large of water changes do you normally perform every week? A pH dropping is indicating that the buffers in the water are being used up and should be replaced either through water changes or a buffer such as crushed coral.

Here is a link with information in the nitrogen cycle, if you want a refresher.

https://www.fishlore.com/NitrogenCycle.htm

3. OP
    OP
    ThumpoftheDead

I normally remove close to 5 gal or 25% although last week I only removed 3gal when I saw my pH went from 7.0 to 6.8. But even then I recorded .25ppm or less on the ammonia. Even back when I had 7.1 my record of ammonia was between .25-.50 ppm. I thought when your pH is good, there shouldn't be hardly any ammonia? And isn't coral for saltwater only? Is there freshwater coral?

4. LiterallyHydro

LiterallyHydroWell Known MemberMember

Crushed coral isn't alive. It's just added in a media bag to buffer the pH.