undergravel filter or not?

eljaes
Hello,

I am pretty new to all this & this is my first post so please bear with me. I have just bought a 40 gallon tank (second hand ex display) which has an under gravel filter as well as an internal terratec filter. I am setting up the tank for Tropical fish. The guy I bought it from advised me to use them both as the under gravel filter helps to keep ammonia levels down. I have read a little on these filters & there seems to be a bit of a mixed debate as to whether they are good or not. I am not sure if I like the extra tubes in the tank as they don't really look natural with bubbles racing through them. I am also wanting to plant the tank up quite a lot & have heard that with UGF's roots seem to be bigger than the plants (which is not the effect I am after). Some advice would really be appreciated, thanks.

sirdarksol
First of all, Welcome to Fishlore.

UGFs create a lot of extra problems, in my opinion. They are not necessary. I have one running in one of my tanks, but it has a powerhead rather than an airstone. The powerhead has a much greater current to it, so it does a better job of keeping the space under the filter plate clean.

eljaes
Thanks sirdarksol,

from what I have read, it pretty much seems the opinion of most that they are not good. I don't think I will put it back in when setting up. How do your plants get on with a UGF?

sirdarksol
I have no rooted plants directly over the UGF. It's in the center, while the few rooted plants are around the edge. Most of the plants in that tank are tied to the driftwood.

COBettaCouple
Welcome to Fishlore.

All of our tanks run with HOB filters.

Tavel
I'm going to go with sirdarksol here, UGF are outdated. They're just bad all around if you plant to use them with airstones...and at best don't do anything when using a powerhead...so they just clutter up the tank and complicate maintenance.