Dismiss Notice
Hi there! You are currently viewing the forum as a guest. To log in, go here.

To become a member please register here.

Uncycled Tank. Help Me Save My Fish Please.

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by H2oAngels, Mar 19, 2019.

1. H2oAngelsValued MemberMember

Hi guys, I am going to attempt to keep this brief. I’m new to aquariums and did the typica newbie goof. I fell for the PetSmart trap and believed that API QuickStart would insta-cycle my tank. In all honesty I knew nothing about it but skipped that part of my research, I thought the little bottle I purchased took care of everything. I purchased 3 gorgeous blue pearlscale angel fish along with a single flying fox on Saturday and had them in my tank that night. The tank is 20H hex. I did do my research in most other aspects and am very aware this tank will not house them long. (Angels are quarter size, Fox is under 3 inches). I only need them in this tank for 4-5 months. I set the tank up, added quick start and water conditioner, put the filter on high. The fish were in the tank 4 hours later. The test strips I purchased in sheer ignorance do did not include an ammonia strip. I thought my tank was perfect. Two of my fish started getting all wonky so I hit the internet, seems like cookie cutter swim bladder but it got me worried enough to really research. Last night at about 10pm it dawned on me that tank was a ticking time bomb. I finally had some knowledge of the nitrogen cycle. I had no way to test my ammonia levels. And at this point I understood that nitrates and nitrites were virtually non factors. In a moment of panic I did the only thing I could think of. I knew ammonia levels had to be rising so I blindly did a 25-30 percent wanted change. Today I immediately went out and bought a master kit. Ph 6.8-7 ammonia is .35-.4 PPm. In my panicked search I found information on Prime. I added the recommended dose an hour ago. I picked up a bottle of Tetra SafeStart earlier today. I plan