Two Months Later I Fixed The Problem With My Oscars

OldFort Exotics

I have been battling a issue with my Oscars for about 2 months but I have figured out the problem and got it fixed now, so wanted to share just in case any else has it problem. It is a long story so hang with me.

Quick back story I enjoy keeping Oscars and I have keep them for years. My current pair are about 2 years old(8" long). These two are different from my other Oscars they are big scared cats, they freak out when I do water changes, and don't seem to like being alone. I wanted to add a few fish that would be big enough to not get eaten and give the tank more activity. I found a group of 4 silver dollars at a good deal so picked them up (I know small group). Everything was doing great no aggression, everyone growing well, only thing was the oscars still freaked out for a few hours after water changes. This lasted 16-18 months

About 2 months ago I noticed white area on the larger Oscar, a few days later it was on the both. It wasn't Ich or anything else I had seen before but I feared it was Hole in the head or some other fungus. I moved them to a 55 gallon and started treating with salt and water changes every day, 2 days later the area where getting better but left them for 2 weeks to be sure it was all gone. They didn't eat much while in the smaller tank and really stressed out so didn't want to leave them too long.