20 Gallon Tank Turning off heater for water changes?

Downward Dog

I was perusing something else on this list and I came across a suggestion to turn off your heater when doing a partial water change?

Is this necessary for the health and life of the heater? I would think that the manual would state that if it was necessary. I've never done it before but thought that maybe I've been doing it wrong all this time! Thanks!

Borisbbadd

If you leave it on, and take enough water out to expose your heater, it can crack and break.

Believe me, I've done it.

Jaysee

Heaters have an automatic shut off when not in the water. However, that doesn't mean they still don't break. I don't see a need to leave it plugged in, unless it will never be exposed to the air.

Aquarist

Good morning,

Some members like to turn off everything when doing tank maintenance to avoid a possible electric shock due to stray currents.

Personally, my heaters are low enough inside of the tank that they will never be exposed to air. Too, I'm one that risks it and I leave everything on that I possibly can.

Other than not letting the heaters be exposed to air, I think the decision is yours to turn them off or leave them on.

Speaking of electrical shocks, you may want to check out my thread below:

Ken

whtmex

Depends on what type of heater you have, Dog.

I have 3 tanks. 2 of them have fully submersible heaters, so the water level never gets low enought to expose the heater. On my 30 Gallon though, the Marineland heater is not submersible. So anytime I do a water change the glass will get exposed almost immediately.

Did you ever do that experiment with the paper cup (not styrofoam) filled with water and then light the lighter under it? The cup doesn't burn because the water immediately absorbs the heat.