Trying To Breed Betta Fish But I'm A Bit Of A Noob

Discussion in 'Betta Breeding' started by Fishrfriends101, Apr 13, 2017.

1. Fishrfriends101

Fishrfriends101New MemberMember

Hi! I want to breed betta fish (not for profit or anything just for fun) and I have recently purchased this male to pair up with my female, all is going well and I put the female in a breeding box in the male's tank for a little bit of time each day, today she was in there quite a few hours! There has been quite a bit of flaring on the male's part and after an hour or two the female began developing vertical stripes (which I read is her saying she's ready to breed?). Anyway my issue here is that the male hasn't made a bubble nest!What's the next step I should take?? Thank you very much!
    Below are pictures of the pair...
    [​IMG][​IMG]

2. GlamCrab

GlamCrabWell Known MemberMember

I might be wrong but the 'female' looks like some type of wild betta.. I dont see an eggspot either (the female is supposed to be the pale one. Right?)

1. They might not be the same species (never saw any betta splendens even female with so little colors)
    2. They might both be males...

But im no betta expert ^^;

3. CROWNTAILBETTA

CROWNTAILBETTAWell Known MemberMember

4. KaderTheAnt

KaderTheAntWell Known MemberMember

1. Horizontal lines mean ready to breed, vertical bars are a sign of stress

2. She looks too young to breed.. (she might be a plakat though)

3. Some males take longer to build a bubble nest. My current breeder didn't build his nest until the female was out inside his tank.

5. OP
    OP
    Fishrfriends101

Thank you for the reply! I'm 99% sure she is a female and possibly she could be a different speciesbut some of her siblings were like white with red fins and stuff so I think they are splendins but I really don't know