Trying something unique and looking for advice.

nickjones799
I have an old 20 gallon tank I used when I was little to house my goldfish, typical child thing to do. Now that I am older and have began to take marine biology classes at my school I have decided I want to start my own tank, however I want to try something fun. I am an engineer and love to build custom things, I have an old computer in which I am planning to build my new fish tank. Here is the plan:

I plan to take my old 20 gallon and use it as the main tank, I then hope to build myself a water bridge in order to allow fish to swim freely over into my computer tank. The computer tank will be small somewhere around 5 gallons and I hope to not only integrate it into the computer, but use the tank as a way to cool down the computer as it runs very hot, in turn which will heat the water for my fish keeping them happy. After doing some research I have come to a stand still on how to accomplish a few challenges.

1. For the small custom tank would you recommend acrylic or glass? It will be my first time ever building a tank so I would prefer to use whatever material is cheap and easy to work with.

2. Once I determine the water temp that is held constant by the heat of my computer what fish will be easy to care for, while being clean and still fun to watch, I would also like to have some hardy live plants in there to provide oxygen, remove ammonia, and help to liven up the tank.

3. Any tips or tricks you could give me to make sure I have a success with this tank, I am aware of all the variables and I am in no way very knowledgeable on aquariums specifically, however I do understand the biology and necessary ecosystem required to keep a healthy tank, my goal is to make the tank almost self sustaining to later be shown at my schools science fair

Edit: This will be a freshwater tank as I worry about salt corroding any parts of the computer if a leak was to spring

bstickler7