Trouble with mopani wood!!

Davidh9054

Hi I’m new to the hobby I have a 20 gallon high tank that I have been having headaches with from the start. I used to have 7 harlequin rasboras and 7 green tiger barbs with a rubber lip pleco and I then bought a zoomed mopani wood. I first soaked it in hot water for about 5 days changing the water daily. I added it to the tank and the next morning I noticed like a white film on some of the fish looked like fungus. I checked the water and the ph was a little lower than usual but I knew it was just the wood. I got rid of the fungus then I noticed what looked like ich on some of the other fish in the process of treating it lost all of my tiger barbs and 2 of the rasboras. Also I took out the wood being as that being the only change was the introduction of the wood. After that everything seemed to be going good and the tank was back to normal again with the 5 rasboras and the rubber lip pleco. After about a week I took the wood and boiled it for about 3 hours changing the water every hour, then I soaked it in hot water for 3 days after. Added it to the tank again and in two days my ph dropped super low to 6.0 or less, it’s usually at 7.2. So I took the wood out again and did a 60% water change because the fish where acting weird and the pleco was out in the open (which he never did except for after the lights go out) but still alive. The next morning the I found the pleco dead at the bottom of the tank all the other fish looked normal again.

So my question is the wood really what’s caused all that to happen or could it have been something else? If it was the wood why would that happen? I have not put the wood back in tank a little more than month has passed and I got 4 more rasboras, 2 emerald green Cory cats, a neon blue dwarf gourami and a clown pleco and everything seems to going good up till now.

Kellye8498