Trouble With Cycling My 75 Gallon Tank

Discussion in 'Aquarium Nitrogen Cycle' started by Vindicare, Aug 2, 2017.

1. VindicareNew MemberMember

Hi Everyone,

I am new to the forum. Now I have been a aquarium hobbyist for about 2 years and I have never run into this kind of dilemma before. Hopefully someone here might be able to assist. I apologize for the long post. I want to provide as much information as I can.

I have run into some problems with my new 75 gallon tank. Here is a bit of background on this tank. I started setting this tank up just over three weeks ago (July 13th) I used 100% RO water, as my house relies on a Sodium based Water softener to treat the town water that is connected to the house. Equilibrium was added to the tank to replenish the stripped nutrients.

The GH is 10 degrees (after Equilibrium is added) and the KH 5-6 Degrees. My PH has fluctuated a bit over the 3 weeks going from as low as 6.8 to as high as 7.4. The GH and KH have remained constant the entire time since day one.

I seeded the tank with live plants taken from my already cycled 10 and 30 gallon tanks. I used Eco-Complete for the substrate and I also added Tetra Safe Start Plus to help establish the tanks bacteria colony accompanied by a small school of Tiger Barbs (5 of 10) to help the tank get established.