Trouble With Ammonia Levels

kinsey12345

Hi! Im pretty new to keeping bettas and i posted last week about a rescue betta that my work got. It was being kept in a small bowl so I did not have time to let the tank i set up complete the nitrogen cycle before putting the fish in, so we are currently doing a fish-in cycle with a 5 gallon tank. I have been testing the ammonia levels everyday and adding Prime everyday. I have also been doing 50% water changes every other day. However, the ammonia levels have been around 0.25-0.5 since day 1 and I’m not sure if this is normal for a fish-in cycle or not? or how to fix it? The nitrite levels are testing 0 and nitrate is testing about 15-20 ppm. Any suggestions?

Attachments

• 3A53F4B8-F307-49AB-A87A-6A6D298BCE6E.jpeg
    3A53F4B8-F307-49AB-A87A-6A6D298BCE6E.jpeg
    146.5 KB · Views: 13

ChrissFishes01

It wouldn't be uncommon for low levels of ammonia and/or nitrite to be present during a lot of the cycling process.

The API Ammonia test kit is pretty bad for having false positives on the low-end - a lot of kits will read 0.25 ammonia no matter what you do. Plus, Prime has a tendency to mess with test kit readings, if I remember correctly.

Is there any foam collecting at the surface of the water? The presence of ammonia can cause water to have a bunch of suds on top, kind of like dish water.

Upvote 0

kinsey12345

It wouldn't be uncommon for low levels of ammonia and/or nitrite to be present during a lot of the cycling process.

The API Ammonia test kit is pretty bad for having false positives on the low-end - a lot of kits will read 0.25 ammonia no matter what you do. Plus, Prime has a tendency to mess with test kit readings, if I remember correctly.

Is there any foam collecting at the surface of the water? The presence of ammonia can cause water to have a bunch of suds on top, kind of like dish water.