Trimming for dummies...

Discussion in 'Aquarium Plants' started by SonsOfGuppies, Jul 12, 2015.

1. SonsOfGuppies

SonsOfGuppies Valued Member Member

Hi,

I have been running a tank full of plants for more than 4 months now, and I just heard about "trimming". I know trimming is to cut plants partially but I don't know the importance and benefit of trimming in a planted tank.

I have plants like: different kinds of stem plants (i don't know their name) and hair grass.

Im quite surprise that in almost every "planted tank beginners" article i've seen, they never mentioned anything about trimming, but when I go to a separate article about it, they say it is important to regularly trim plants

2. Aquarist

Aquarist Fishlore Legend Member

Hello,

When I trim my plants (anubia, java fern) I usually only removed dead leaves. Trimming the plants in this fashion helps to promote new plant growth.

Other plants that I've trimmed is Wisteria in order to start new plants.

Ken

3. AquaticBrandon

AquaticBrandon Well Known Member Member

Trimming plants help promote new growth as Aquarist mentioned. You will have more plants and the plants will start to look bushier, mostly with stem plants.

Sent from my iPhone using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

4. Dom90

Dom90 Fishlore VIP Member

I've had to trim my hornworts twice now, they grow crazy like weeds. The tank has only been running for three weeks or so.

5. Bluestreakfl

Bluestreakfl Well Known Member Member