Trickle filter or HOB?

1. Machine11 Well Known Member Member

I'm looking at adding a 140L(39g) to my MTS. It's down to tanks really, one has a HOB (familiar with those as I have 3 already) and the other has a trickle filter in the top.
    Does any one prefer one over the other? I have no experience with trickle filters, are they easier to use than HOBs? More complicated? Advantage or disadvantage?

I'm looking at a community setup with easier fish like some platties, swordtails, maybe some cardinal tetras and the like.

Any advice would be appreciated

Sent from my iPhone using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

2. smee82 Well Known Member Member

I think it depends more on the filter itself. My first HOB was garbage but the one i have now is great, Its more like a mini canister filter really. When i was looking for a new filter I found a 6 compartment trickle filter that looked great but was too long for my tank.

3. Adam55 Well Known Member Member

I prefer a combination (the Fluval C series is a HOB with a trickle feature), but I'd pick the HOB if it was one or the other.

4. Machine11 Well Known Member Member

I guess the biggest doubts I have is
    1) if the spray/trickle bar runs nearly the length of the tank how is the water running through all of the sponge and bio media. 2) will the spray/trickle bar become a haven for junk and require constant cleaning out due to eventual blockages

The tank with the trickle filter comes with a better stand and lighting compared to the tank with the HOB so I'm caught in two minds about it

Sent from my iPad using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

5. Thai Aquarium owner Well Known Member Member

I use trickle filters in all my tanks, and have been doing so for most of my tanks for many years.
    My preference toward the trickle filter is based on the ease of regular cleaning and maintainance.
    IMO the trickle filter is so simple and yet so very effective.
    There are 3 or possibly 4 stages of filtration involved.