trial and errors of a new aquarim owner.

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by crystalm04, Jul 22, 2015.

1. crystalm04

crystalm04 Valued Member Member

The trials and errors of keeping fish. I am new to this hoppy and every day its something else. I did take on this responsibility knowing I would be responsible for my fish and their lives and I'm really trying hard.

Had no clue what I was getting into when I decided to get my children a fish tank. Within 5 weeks I ended up with three tanks. Overwhelmed here, but I have my fish and am determined to take care of them just like I do all my other pets and family. Every day is something new and I guess as a new aquarium owner three tanks in less than two months is just .... wow. First question is one of my guppie males got bullied in my 37 gallon by my silver tip tetras. Got his fin nipped and so I moved him to my 10 gallon tank which only houses two female guppies. Will his tail grow back and how can I help him? He seems more at ease there but I'm very concerned about his tail. My 37 gallon tank still seems to not be cycling. I have seen here about using TSS and I started my other two tanks with API quick start and it seemed to work and I had some left over and used it for my 37 gallon however, im having crazy PH spikes in 37 gallon and today high ammonia spikes. I have no nitrites or nitrates in it so that leads me to believe it may just now be cycling. My main concern is I do have fish in there and I would not recommend quick start cause it obviously didn't work for me. What do I do now? I did two water changes in it in three days and got a ammonia to lower but pH is stll low. It went from a 7.5 to a 6.8 and now a 6.6. I had another thread about Ph and I started using coral but should I do that if my tank may not be cycled? Ughhhh just don't know what to do.

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 23, 2015
  2. Bijou88

Bijou88 Well Known Member Member