treating tap water/sick dwarf Gourami

robrodgers

Reaction score
Hi all,

As a real beginner I'm more than a little confused with the amount of conflicting advicethere is out there.

I've two questions.

1) When adding tap water during a water change I've bought a chemical to remove the harmful chloramines/chlorine. It says add 1ml to 19 gallons of tap water. As my tank only holds 40 gallons and I'm only doing 10% changes this equates to 0.5ml. The bucket I use to add the water only holds 2 gallons. What is the correct way to treat this tap water?

2) After allowing my tank to cycle for two weeks I added a few fish. Three dwarf gouramis and two mollies. One of my gourami's died with what looked like a hole in his side. A second has now developed a red raised mark down one side from top to bottom and is taking to hiding away. I've carried out regular water changes in the four weeks the tank has been working. PH is 7, Ammonia 0, nitrites 0.25 and nitrates 10.

Any assistance would be welcome.

Thanks

Rob

JMatt1983

Valued Member
Reaction score
ok, your readings look good, nothing to wory about there, a for the water conditioner, just follow the directions on the bottle, if you're doing 10% water changes, you'e only changing 4 gallons of water, most people do 20-25% every week.

as for the dwarf gouramis, were 2 of them male?, if they were, they will fight each other, similar to a betta, but not as aggressive, the lfs i go to will only sell them in pairs, and you get a male and a female for that reason

vin

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Your readings need some attention....