Toys For Bettas

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by LauraR, Apr 15, 2017.

1. LauraR

LauraR New Member Member

hello,
    I'm new to the whole forum thing so I apologise in advance! I have recently just got a betta who is stunning. I have got him floating logs, the leaf hammock, sinking log, stick on plants, etc. However, he does not seem too interested in anything I have placed in the tank. I have read that bettas can be bored which can affect their health. Any advise?

2. SuperK

SuperK Well Known Member Member

Bettas are fussy little fish I'll tell you that. But honestly a betta will show when he's bored but he'll also only play with what he's interested in. You have to try a lot of things I guess. Mine currently won't eat most things because he's a very picky eater, although I think I've found something that works.

Try different things he can rest on, different locations perhaps. Mine likes to play with my pipette for some reason. I stick it in the water and he likes to follow it around and attack it sometimes haha. He also eats out of it. I can't check water sometimes because I'm too busy messing around with him with the pipette.

Honestly you just have to find what works for them.

3. _IceFyre_

_IceFyre_ Well Known Member Member

Most bettas love live plants! They will sleep on them and hide in them and they even help with water quality. Get a lot and build a mini jungle for him!:)

4. SuperK

^Agree. Another thing you could try is a ping pong ball. I've heard they like to try and hunt them.

5. OP
    OP
    LauraR

LauraR New Member Member

Thank you both so much. Will try different things and see how he does. I've already tried a ping pong ball but he wasn't interested in it. I've heard of the fish training obstacle courses you can do, hoops, rings, etc however, I can't find anything like that in the U.K. Any suggestions?

6. W

WhiteCloudMinnows Valued Member Member

7. OP
    OP
    LauraR

LauraR New Member Member

8. W