Total Noob - What Is This Fishy?

Duke5A

Reaction score
Welp, my daughter won a fish at a carnival two days ago and has become quite attached to it. Nobody in the family has any kind of aquarium experience.

Wanting to keep this little guy around for a long time I managed to find a 5 gallon tank at a thrift store that came with basically everything. After reading up on how to prep a tank I cleaned it (no solvents), got new rocks for it I rinsed before putting in, filled it with tap water and treated it with bio booster and de-chlorinater. Waiting for it to come up to room temperature.

Now, I've had this poor thing in this carnival tank we bought at the fair because I don't have anything else. Been putting in fresh water about twice a day. My problem is he doesn't seem to want to eat. I've been very sparing with flakes as I didn't want to yuck up the water.

At the fair the game was tossing ping-pong balls into little cups of water. Each ball sunk equaled a goldfish, and three gets you a specialty fish. I have no idea what a specialty fish is supposed to be, but it kinda looks like a goldfish. Does anyone here know what this guy is? Am I feeding it the wrong stuff?

Sorry for the long winded post... Thanks everyone...

Attachments

MrBryan723

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
It is indeed a "goldfish". Better known as a koi? Maybe a comet? But I would guess a low quality butterfly koi. They get really big(over a foot) and are more of a pond fish than a tank fish.

ponitboss

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
Duke5A said:
Welp, my daughter won a fish at a carnival two days ago and has become quite attached to it. Nobody in the family has any kind of aquarium experience.