Total Noob Question - Will schooling fish of different types school together?

jered

Reaction score
Let me start out with this note of caution, I had a gold fish from the fair about 20 yrs ago and it died within a week. That is the not-so-grand total of my fish rearing experience.
My parents gave me an 8 gallon biorb tank as a christmas present to decorate my new office and I really want to take this on. I have purchased a 50watt heater to go with it. I like the look of the cherry barbs that I see on this site and would like to start there. This site says barbs need company, can I put multiple types of barbs together to make the school? I would like to have a single highlight fish as well and I have read about the cories but my tank says no bottom feeders. What would be my best option as a single fish to put in with the cherry barbs? Can I put a barb of a contrasting color in with the school of cherrys and expect it to be happy?

chickadee

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Barbs are fairly peaceful fish in most cases but seem to be aggressive to smaller fish at times and nippers at other times. There are species that are better to keep than others. Tiger Barbs have a tendency to be more peaceable when young but become more aggressive as they get older. I do not know and can find no information on any of the species of Barbs schooling together. I am doubting it from reading of the temperment differences involved. Living in a bio-orb is a different thing than living in a tank as it gives less opportunity for hiding places and protection if there is a bully in the area. It is really much more wise to try to concentrate on peaceful fish that need less protection.

Rose

jered

Reaction score
Re: Total Noob Question - Will schooling fish of different types school together