Total noob move

1. Brizburk Member Member

Since I've found this forum (couple weeks ago) I've learned TONS. I broke down and bought a test kit. I freaked. I had ammonia .25 and nitrites at 0 and nitrates at 10 and ph at 7.6 (out of the tap ugh). I thought I'd been killing off all my bb and causing harm to my tank. 25% water change as usual, and put some ceramic rings in the filter. Well today I tested the water again (after two days away at work). My tank is only 10 gallons

Ammonia 0
    Nitrite 0
    Nitrate 20
    Copper 0
    Ph is still 7.6 - not sure if it's harmful to the inverts and fishes or not

So my noob move - wait for it. ..... Yea I had added 4 new fishes a month ago. I only had three little fish in the tank before the 4 new ones - guess that can cause a spike in ammonia until the tank catches up to its new overload...

What a learning experience!

Now to lower the ph and kill off the algae ... That ugly brown algae. Ideas anyone??

2. Themaniac19 Member Member

Just leave the pH as it is. Most freshwater fish can handle different pHs fine so long as it doesn't swing around wildly. To get rid of algae just scrub it off or get a school of otos so long as your bioload's fine.

3. RubyGem Member Member

Yep some ottos mystery snails, what ever you do don't get a Pleco, they need 120 gallons + when they get full grown. As mentioned if the algae is not effecting the bio load it's not a huge danger to your fish.

4. hampalong Fishlore VIP Member

How big is the tank, and what fish are they?

Brown 'algae' is common in tanks with low lighting and excess phosphates and silicates. It's not harmful, just unsightly. Depending on the size of the tank there are some smaller plecs that will eat it... they don't all grow big.

The pH is ok. Do you know the hardness?

5. littleredridingmech Member Member