total newbie - Planted aquarium too hard??

1. andrearamirezo91 Well Known Member Member

Helloo :) :;hi1

So I'm about to set up a 5.5G betta tank and have been really thinking about how i"m going to decorate it. I am going for a very natural look (I like big flat river rocks, driftwood, black substrate and/or sand)or if not something Zen style, so I thought about maybe using some type of moss in them. The thing is I know nothing about live plants and every time I have tried having some they have died :( So my question is.. Would it be too hard to work on a planted tank? How difficult is the maintenance?

If not... Do you have any suggestions? Remember it has to be fin safe because its for a betta :;banaman

Thank you!

2. LyndaB Fishlore Legend Member

People plant small tanks all the time. Of course, the more plants, the less room the betta has and 5 gallons is a pretty small tank, especially once you get the heater and filter in there, too. Have you thought about upgrading to a 10 gallon betta tank and planting it?

3. Redshark1 Well Known Member Member

Lots of light and lots of fast growing plants would be my advice if you want success, at least when setting up a new tank.

Plants need good light to grow and fast growing plants like Hygro (Hygrophila polysperma), Vallisneria etc. outcompete algae effectively - and they look great!

Also, keep fish numbers low - you soon get used to fewer fish when you have tons of lovely green plants.

I have a ten UK gallon - it's a great success (Vallisneria shown here).

[​IMG]

4. pirahnah3 Fishlore VIP Member

I love planted tanks and have found them actually much EASIER to operate than your standard tank. Its really worth the little bit more effort up front for them.

5. Akari_32 Fishlore Legend Member

Its not too hard! =D

[​IMG]