Total Newbie Here. My Betta Has Two Weird Spots On Him. What Could This Be?

Macrophage

Reaction score
He has two spots on his right side, near his eye, that were never there before. See the images. For reference, I have included a shot of his left side where there are no spots.

Embedding didn't seem to work, so here are the image links

betta01
betta02
betta04

jdhef

Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Welcome to FishLore!

When I click the link, I get to the page, but there is a small box with an "x" thru it instead of the photo

e_watson09

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
The photos show up for me but are hard to see, it almost looks like early stages of ich to me. Is there anything else in the tank? What size tank and what are your parameters? If it really is ich there are ways you can treat without medication.

Macrophage

Reaction score
The photos show up for me but are hard to see, it almost looks like early stages of ich to me. Is there anything else in the tank? What size tank and what are your parameters? If it really is ich there are ways you can treat without medication.
45 gallon tall tank which also contains:
5 amano shrimp
4 albino cories
2 agassazi cories
2 amazon swords
2 large pieces of java moss

pH = 7.1
Ammonia = 0 ppm
Nitrite = 0 ppm
Nitrate = 10 ppm
GH = 4
KH = 5
Temperature is kept at a steady 78 F
Tank is filtered by an AquaClear 70
No additional aeration

GuppyDazzle

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
It looks like ich. Once the white spots appear the parasite has been there for a while. Ich infects the entire tank. It won't do any good to remove the fish showing symptoms. You'll probably see a rapid increase in the number of white spots over the next couple days.