Torn Fin Healing Process

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by veiltalemale, Apr 17, 2017.

1. v

veiltalemale New Member Member

Hello everyone. Thank you for opening my thread. To start off, I am new to fish keeping so please be patient as my questions may be obvious to more experienced fish keepers. About three months ago I bought my first fish ever. I got a male betta, Bao. As I was just starting off I had him in a tiny tank (1.2 gallon) with a plant that was too hard on his fins. It was about a month later after getting him that his fins were torn, so I bought him a new tank (5.5 gallon) with new plants that are suitable for his fins. At this time, I assumed it was fin rot so I joined fishlore and asked for help (thank you to all the wonderful people who helped save my Bao). You can go look for more information. Now I don't believe that it was fin rot, as one helpful member convinced me it was new tank syndrome. Since then I have stopped treating for fin rot, I did partial water changes daily for about a week and a half (then started seeing improvement), changed my water conditioner and bought a test kit. Since starting my new course of action, Bao's personality has been nothing like I've seen before. He is extremely territorial (as soon as my finger touches water he attacks), he is flaring his fins which I didn't see before, and he swims 10x faster. Despite all of this, his fins have not fully healed yet. It's been a while since, and his fins have been starting to worry me again. I have attached a picture, the top left is when I first got him, top right is when I first noticed his fins, bottom left was when I started to notice improvements and the bottom right is a picture I took today. As you can see, the first picture he did not have any fin on the side of this body (I'm so sorry I forgot the name), and the picture that I took today - it is visible. Yet, in the second, third and fourth picture his fins haven't completely healed. Is there anything