Question Topping Up My Tank With Ammonia Remover

matt0404

Active Member
Member
Messages
75
Reaction score
13
Ok so I’m not sure how much I would have to put of the chlorine remover in my 2 litre bottle to top up my tank cause some water has evaporated as I don’t have a 5 gallon bucket or nothing I don’t wanna harm my fish or anything and as well as the temp I’m not sure cause I don’t wanna shock my fish in temperature
Image1559771745.705005.jpg
Image1559771772.664675.jpg
 

david1978

Fishlore Legend
Member
Messages
15,457
Reaction score
17,001
Location
pa usa
Experience
More than 10 years
That's ammonia remover not a dechlorinator. 2 different products. That one to me is a waiste. A partial water change would do the same thing.

Sorry after reading farther it helps neutralize chlorine too. So again sorry on that. Reading over it the ammonia detoxifying thing is its primary function and then as a dechlorinator. .25 ml would be for half a gallon.
 
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #3
OP
M

matt0404

Active Member
Member
Messages
75
Reaction score
13
Ok I was recommended this by my buddy he said it was the stuff he uses to dechlorinate his water is that ok like I can use it for a dechlorinator ? And if so how much would I need and it would be ok as it’s main purpose it to remove ammonia ???
 

david1978

Fishlore Legend
Member
Messages
15,457
Reaction score
17,001
Location
pa usa
Experience
More than 10 years
After reading more on it yes its a dechlorinator. Breaking it down 5ml treats 10 gallons so .25 ml would treat half a gallon or roughly 2 liters.
 
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #5
OP
M

matt0404

Active Member
Member
Messages
75
Reaction score
13
How would I measure it down that low to .25 ml

Image1559772943.650286.jpg
 

david1978

Fishlore Legend
Member
Messages
15,457
Reaction score
17,001
Location
pa usa
Experience
More than 10 years
I use a syringe with out the needle. Its seems to be .05 of a teaspoon but not sure if you have a measuring spoon that small.
 
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #7
OP
M

matt0404

Active Member
Member
Messages
75
Reaction score
13
I’ve only got 1.25 ml teaspoon

It’s hard to eye it .25 ml form 1.25

It’s hard to eye out .25 ml from 1.25 ml *** but what about temperature idk exact temp or nothing should I just make it feel just about alike the water I’m adding and the water in the tank
 

david1978

Fishlore Legend
Member
Messages
15,457
Reaction score
17,001
Location
pa usa
Experience
More than 10 years
kallililly1973 any idea how to measure this out? I use my finger to judge temp even for water changes so if its only a top you can try to get it close but its not real important.
 

david1978

Fishlore Legend
Member
Messages
15,457
Reaction score
17,001
Location
pa usa
Experience
More than 10 years
kallililly1973 said:
I think I read somewhere that every 4" of 3/16" airline tubing is 1 ML so maybe you could put the tube in and cover it with your finger and get 1" worth of chemical?
https://www.google.com/search?client=firefox-b-1-d&ei=6Un4XNDWEIKf0gKAmqeoBg&q=pipe+inch+to+mm+conversion+table&oq=3/16"+airline+tubing+to+ml&gs_l=psy-ab.1.1.0i71l3.0.0..18656...0.0..0.0.0.......0......gws-wiz.RzeQKODACw4
Never even thought about using airline tubing. I have been sitting here drawing a blank. Thanks.
 

kallililly1973

Fishlore Legend
Member
Messages
10,076
Reaction score
10,033
Location
Rhode Island USA
Experience
3 years
david1978 said:
Never even thought about using airline tubing. I have been sitting here drawing a blank. Thanks.
Thanks for tagging me glad I could help. Even I have some info that comes in handy once in a while
 
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #12
OP
M

matt0404

Active Member
Member
Messages
75
Reaction score
13
Just kinda eyed it out from the tea spoon since I don’t have any airline tubing I’m just sure my fish can handle a tiny extra drop lol tanks looking nice and isn’t making any noise from the filter now that’s it full thanks for all help everyone !!!
Image1559779009.571657.jpg
 

kallililly1973

Fishlore Legend
Member
Messages
10,076
Reaction score
10,033
Location
Rhode Island USA
Experience
3 years
Very nice looking setup. You can add water all the way up to the filter output to quiet it down even more and at the same time hide the glass and water level line if u will.
 
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #15
OP
M

matt0404

Active Member
Member
Messages
75
Reaction score
13
Yeah I gotta get some equipment to clean the water level like a sponge why what do you use and wdym by hide the glass
 

david1978

Fishlore Legend
Member
Messages
15,457
Reaction score
17,001
Location
pa usa
Experience
More than 10 years
I stole a cheap scrubby kitchen sponge from my wife. When the water level is behind the rI'm you don't notice it.
 

New Threads

Similar Threads

Follow FishLore!

FishLore on Social Media

Online statistics

Members online
119
Guests online
2,200
Total visitors
2,319

Aquarium Photo Contests

Aquarium Calculator

Top Bottom