Took The Wrong Advice Now I Need Help With Fish-in Cycle Help

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Klokow, Apr 17, 2019.

1. KlokowNew MemberMember

Hi everybody, hope you are doing well!

I was interested in starting with this hobby and only did research from local fish stores. They told me i can start a aquarium with a betta, and a week later i can add two cory catfish to eat the leftover food that the betta does not eat.

I know, i feel like an idiot only asking local fish stores and not doing proper research... Afterwards i found out about the nitrogen cycle and how it work and felt like kicking myself.

Hoping to save my fish i decided to buy beneficial bacteria to speed up the cycling process but also keep the ammonia levels low.

I do not have access to a test kit, and as a student i can not afford one at this time because they are a bit expensive in south africa.

My local fish store does do water testing, but at a price so decided to do a fill water test every week.

I did the first test today, my ammonia levels were at 0.25, nitrites 0 and nitrates 0. Afterwards i added beneficial bacteria and will test the water levels in a few days again. I am closely monitoring my fish to make sure they stay healthy to the best of my ability. On my next aquarium build im definitely doing a fishless cycle as i know it is the right thing to do.

Am i taking the right steps of action?

2. SomeoneFISHyValued MemberMember