Too Small For Tiger Barbs?also Other Questions Too. 10 Gallon Tank

Discussion in 'Tiger Barb' started by 15324bbb, Dec 7, 2018 at 12:39 PM.

1. 15324bbbNew MemberMember

Hello I have a 10 gallon tank and I didn't think too much about putting tiger barbs into a 10 gallon. I want to know if they pick on each other more if a tank is to small is this true? PS I'm new in fish keeping and this is the only tank I have but thinking about getting a 3 or 4 gallon tank for live plants, do you have to have substrate? or can you just put them in gravel with fertilizer tablets? 1544207848291754559591.jpg I do want Java moss is it easy to care for?

2. nikm128Well Known MemberMember

Tiger barbs shouldn't be in a 10g, especially not with your harlequin rasboras. what's the full stock of the tank?
    Also barbs are nippy fish in general

3. WTFish?

WTFish?Well Known MemberMember

Agree, tiger barbs get big, they’re active and super not nice imo.
    Your plant question..depends on the plant, you can get some that attach to wood or a rock so the substrate doesn’t matter. Anubias, java fern are great and easy. And yes java moss grows rapidly too, just tie it off to something.

4. OP
    OP

15324bbbNew MemberMember

Ya I didn't know if you DID need substrate because every time I look it up it said yes so thank you for that now about the Java moss I was thinking of attacing it to the castle and would that look good or no? I'm looking at the barbs now and the lead barb (the biggest one) is chasing the other barbs what do you think??

Ya I didn't know if you DID need substrate because every time I look it up it said yes so thank you for that now about the Java moss I was thinking of attacing it to the castle and would that look good or no? I'm looking at the barbs now and the lead barb (the biggest one) is chasing the other barbs what do you think??

The stock is...well.....19 basically Overstock.....yay. I will get a 10 gallon bigger tank every year so they grow with the tank.