Question Too Much Lighting?

mitchellh97

Reaction score
I have a 55 gallon tank, I believe 18” tall, and have a t8 light fixture that is 4’ long and I have two 6500k bulbs in it. Currently it is on around 4-5 hours a day but I installed a proper co2 set up and have good saturation (my drop checker says my co2 is good) but I’m getting massive algae and mostly brown on the plant leaves and sand. I don’t really want to turn the lights back much as it seems like I don’t get any time to appreciate it. The plants seem to love the co2 but algae does as well. It is a dirted tank with potting soil (peat moss, sand, clay) and what I would consider fairly heavily planted but still waiting for them to grow out. Should I take a bulb out and double/add time or should I increase co2? I’m new to co2 and trying to figure it out but seems like I have too much light even though they aren’t as powerful as most led lights and they’re on for very few hours out of a day. Can anyone weigh in on what would be the best idea? Would taking out a bulb and adding more time have the same affect or would it decrease PAR at the substrate level to the point where my plants would die?
IMG_1224.jpg

619CoryFan

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
How long has co2 been running? Was algae good before co2? I would try taking a bulb out, stop co2 for the mean time, and keep light in 6-8 hours and see how you like it's progress. I think the plants you currently have will do fine without the 2nd bulb or co2. While you wait it out for a couple weeks you can think about adding more plants that really require high light and co2. I would definitely try more red plants and carpet plants with the 2nd bulb and co2. Sorry I couldn't specify which plants. I'm new and still learning as well. Nice tank BTW! I like your set up.

OP
mitchellh97

mitchellh97

Reaction score