Too Much Fish, Too Little Tank!!

Electricat
Too Much Fish, Too Little Tank!! (UPDATED)

Hello all, I am a noob here, looking for some guidance....thanks for reading my overly long post about the situation.

I have a WAY overcrowded tank here, I would appreciate some advice on a plan to get things to a more reasonable level....I had small freshwater fish years ago, so I'm not clueless about fishies, but this is a whole new situation here!

Here is the story: Last week, some college kid at my wife's work said, "Hey, want some fish? I'm headed for CalI and have to get rid of them today!" Wife said sure, my husband likes fish, I'll take them. So I come home to find a somewhat neglected 10 ga. tank setup. Then I look in the bucket with the fish in it.......I'm expecting some tetras or mollies or something, but here I have a 2-3" American cichlid of some kind (with 1 popeye), a 4" blood parrot, and a 6" common pleco!!!!

The kid said that these 3 fish have been living together in this tank for 3-4 years without a problem, which is surprising since they probably outgrew it in 6 months. They do get along reasonably well.....the BP is mildy aggressive towards both the pleco and the other cichlid (moreso toward the pleco), but nobody is losing fins or anything. The pleco seems to prefer to mind his own business, but fights back if the BP picks at him too much. I have used rock, etc. to break the tank up a bit, which helped calm them all down. I'm doing regular water changes, filter cleanings, and vacuuming to keep the mess down, but it is just too much fish, especially with that big messy pleco!

Anyway.....I don't have much money to spend now, and I wasn't really planning to get back into aquaria until I had more to invest. I will be watching Craigslist for a cheap used setup of some sort, as even another small tank would help.