Too high lighting

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by plug, Jan 6, 2013.

1. plug

plugWell Known MemberMember

On my second tank, I have dual T5HO lights
    They sit approx 4 inches above the tank and the tank is about 15 inches high

I have been running it for a couple of months and I am over run with algae
    I have a DIY co2 but it does not seem to be helping

If I remove one of the lights, which one should I remove?
    The 2 lights are

1) 6000 K Lamp
    2) Roseatte Lamp 650 nn

Will reomoving them possibly help with algae

The lights are on for approx 6 hours or so a day

water parameters are 0/0/10-20 ammonia/nitrite/nitrate

Tank is currently very lightly stocked with 3 Tiger Barbs

2. AlyeskaGirl

AlyeskaGirlFishlore VIPMember

I'd remove the Roseatte lamp. Running one bulb would knock it down to about moderate light.

You could also place window screening to reduce the intensity.

What algae is giving you trouble?

3. OP
    OP
    plug

It is green algae that is plagueing the whole tank

This tank just can't seem to catch a break...nothing working right in it

4. AlyeskaGirl

AlyeskaGirlFishlore VIPMember

You just need to reduce the light intensity and that will help you gain control of your tank.

Is it Green Spot or is it easy to wipe off?

5. OP
    OP
    plug

It is easy to wipe off
    Not Green Spot...it grows on my plants and covers them...I can easily wipe it off

It is also all over my glass...I had a Twig Catfish and he was eating all the algae off the glass (not the plants), but he died for no known reason a few days ago:( My heart is broken as I have a Twig in my main tank for over a year and he keeps algae off the glass...and he is by far my favourite fish

So I have the same lighting in my larger tank...and its deeper, but do not have the same issue with algae there. I have compressed C02 in larger tank, but only DIY co2 in the smaller tank with the algae issue

6. Siggi

SiggiWell Known MemberMember