Told My Son Not To Buy A Cheap Canister Filter

roundhouse
He did and it blew up at 4:30 this morning. Would not have been a big deal if it did not run behind the baseboards and in between the laminate floor and the underlayment. But it did, and the cheap laminate floor is toast. Started swelling almost immediately. We finished pulling out the floor about 9:15 after moving all his stuff out of his room as well as this tank and his small tanks.

It dumped about 4-5 gallons of water before he was able to shut it off.

I am an aquarium novice AT BEST, and maybe some folk have good luck with these ebay filters. I say buyer beware? He has had trouble with this one just stopping for no reason. He has to unplug and plug it back in and it will start up. This is the first catastrophic event.

Looks just like this one.

We are going to have to set up a 20 gallon to put his silver tips and otocinclus in. Luckily the tank was mostly plants and only had 8-9 silver tips and 5-6 otocinclus. We have to get a floor in so we can set it back up again.

I told him to get a fluval canister or some other top name brand or a hob filter. What do y'all think?

The aftermath pic.

Attachments

• 20180908_060240.jpg
    20180908_060240.jpg
    166.5 KB · Views: 209
Skavatar
most name brand filters are good to go.

I went with in the tank filters, Fluval U3, and Tetra 20i. drawbacks: a little less room in the tank and very very slight chance of electrocution. but I'm happy with them.

HORNET1
HOB Filters...Seachem Tidal Filters
Hydor Professional Filters...The best cans, IMO.

If you're on a tight budget... The entire Aqueon Line is worth a close look. They have a canister filter that is very nice at a very reasonable price.

* Sorry to hear about your misfortune.

bizaliz3
Wow. That's scary. I've been using that one for a couple years with no issues....knock on wood......

When you say it blew up? Did it literally explode??

What a nightmare. Sorry you are facing that

r5n8xaw00