To Venturi Or Not To Venturi ?

Cait73
HI everyone, I'm having a bit of a debate regarding the VenturI option on my Fluval F4.

Now, I don't really like the way that the tiny bubbles make the water look like there's bits floating round the tank. I'm aware that its the agitation of the surface that produces the oxygen, but I removed the venturI last night but didn't think that with out it the surface wasn't moving enough. So I got a little scared and worried and put it back! Hubby said it was fine but I'm not convinced. His view was that as you could see the current moving under the surface it was ok.

I've never used a venturI before, all my other tanks in the past have had a Fluval and a directional powerhead too and I've never ad a problem.

Id love some advice on this, I do have a wave maker, but I don't use it at the min. If I use this, would it upset the water current too much ? I bought the wave maker to help with a dead spot I have.

Thank you for any help

Mihai Boldor
If you want to use bubbles to get water surface movement you could use a old fashion airstone and a air pump. Personally I never used the venturI features on any filter because it is loud and it really fills the tank with micro bubbles.

Cait73
MihaI Boldor said:
If you want to use bubbles to get water surface movement you could use a old fashion airstone and a air pump. Personally I never used the venturI features on any filter because it is loud and it really fills the tank with micro bubbles.
Thanks MihaI Boldor, id rather not have the tank filled with the tiny bubbles ! Air stones are way to loud ! I'm wondering if I could remove the venturI and then move the filter up a bit so the agitation is more sort of right on the surface, if that makes sense?

Mihai Boldor
It makes perfect sense and you definitely do that

Cait73
Ahhh, can't move it up enough. The brace is in the way ! Back to the drawing board !!

NavigatorBlack
You didn't share the most important info - what fish?