To Centerpiece Fish Or Not To Centerpiece Fish?

Brokedowndancer

Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Hey all!

I'm what's commonly referred to as an "over planner" or "control freak" and am planning out a tank I do not yet have but am looking for advice.

I currently have a 10g tank with 3 peppered cory cats, 1 oto and 1 male guppy BUT in October my hubby and I are moving out of our condo and into a house (woooo!!!!!). No strata = many more fish!

We've agreed that something between a 40g and 75g would be appropriate. 55g is our goal but we'll go a little bigger or a little smaller based on either a) the needs of our centre piece fish and/or b) what size tank I can find a great deal on.

We're not experienced fish keepers but we're not complete newbies either (we know about cycling and stocking and appropriate filtration and the like). We've kept our current fish alive and seemingly happy for over a year but they are pretty sturdy little dudes!
When we move, we'd like to move our current fish into a bigger aquarium, increase the numbers on each species and add a few more. I'm planning to keep my 10g as a quarantine tank as we build up the population.

Anyway- the point of this post is to ask for realistic advice on stocking - before I get my heart set on an inappropriate species!

I am pretty set on having a school of at least 6 of the peppered cory's and 3 oto's but my guppy Spot is on the small side and not a particularly flashy guppy (I worry about him getting picked on) and I'm not interested in breeding so I am open to keeping him on his own and going with something other than guppies.

I've read conflicting reports of keeping dwarf gourami's in peaceful community tanks and some people swear that a pair of pearls are fine and others that they'll eat everything. I've read that I'd have to keep 1/2/3/6 honey gourami's to keep them happy.