Question To Carbon or not to Carbon this is the ????

Fish Monster

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
I pretty sure activated carbon is fine as long as you change it regularly, there is always the problem of leching contaminates into the tank with old carbon thats why you need to change it. I change my carbon evry three weeks which is half the time of 4-6 weeks recomended by the mfg. So from my understanding carbon can be a bad thing on any tank if it is not changed often but I would think as long as you are changing it on a regular basis like I do once evry three weeks you should be good. I am not an expert on Discus but I never heard not to use it before now that is. If you do not use AC then what keeps the tank from smelling or geting that yellow tinge that the AC is suppose to get rid of in other words what is the substition and if there is none dose anyone run into rpoblems of yellow tank and smelly for those of you who do not use the AC is there any draw backs from not using it?

Fish Monster

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
What about any fishy smells or yellow tinges in the water, and what do you use for filtration then? any sugestions as to what to put into a canister filter? I have three trays in mine.

Fish Monster

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
Ok cool I could do that I just was under the impresion you know you gotta use the activated carbon and blah blah well if it serves no benefit to my discus maybe Ill just add for floss and ceramic rings for bio filtration, use whats left of the carbon and after that stop buying it and see how it goes. Maybe doing frequesnt water changes would eliminate the need for it anyway you know how can it get yellow or smell if we are always doing water changes with our Discus rite? make sense to me.

Meenu

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
I don't have discus, though. I choose not to add AC, but I am pretty uptight about my maintenace schedule.

Shawnie